The Sunshine Award!

 

sunshine-award.jpg dasies

THANK YOU SO MUCH Arlene, from Arl’s world

for nominating me for the Sunshine Award – 

given to blogs that spread a little sunshine  🙂

What a wonderful feeling when someone who you admire but don’t know gives you a pat on the back…

Appreciated, Arlene.

http://arlsworld.wordpress.com/2014/04/06/the-sunshine-award/

A single mum, positive individual and creative cook, the sub-title of Arl’s blog is

Experiments of a single mom‘.

Inspired from a quote by Ralf Waldo Emerson

All life is an experiment.  The more experiments you make, the better’.

For a lot of us bloggers, the blog tracks our ‘experiments’ in life – or in a specific area of our lives.

XXX

Another Emerson quote states that

Conversation is an art in which a man has all mankind for his competitors, for it is that which all are practising every day while they live.’  

Arl’s blog is an uplifting contribution to conversation within the blogging world.

And for visual inspiration, see her wonderful ‘Weekly Photo Challenge’ pages…

Will I ever get to know how to make the most of my camera?!?

XXX

Rules of the Sunshine award for the recipient –

1.  Include the Sunshine Award icon on their blog.

2.  Add a link to the blogger who made the nomination.

3.  Answer the 10 questions about yourself posed by the nominator.

4.  Nominate 10 other bloggers, and pose 10 questions for them to answer.

sunshine-blog-award

Here goes with my answers to Arl’s questions – 

1.  What is your greatest comfort food?

     Oats – Large, Whole Rolled Scottish Oats.

2.  What is your biggest accomplishment?

     My first proper job, as a teenager – working in an outside catering kitchen… I soon ended up running the kitchen/s… designing menus, ordering supplies and managing kitchen staff for parties and receptions at large functions in London’s museums, art galleries and in private homes in the home countines… an  amazing, adrenalin filled, all-consuming way of life.

3.    What is your greatest regret?

     Instinctively, I’d say not going straight to uni after school – to study politics, philosophy and Economics then law – but if I’d taken that path, I would not have entered the world of outside catering and had the incredible challenges and experiences that offered – so I’ll stick to life as it happened (keeping my answer to question 2 as it is!)  Instead in answer to this question, I will quote Emerson again (thanks for the introduction, Arl!)…

‘Be not the slave of your own past.

Plunge into the sublime seas, dive deep and swim far,

so you shall come back with self-respect, with new power, with an advanced experience that shall explain and overlook the old.’

– It’s taken many years and tears to get here, but now I’d say no regrets – what purpose would they serve?!

4.   Tell me about what you consider to be your best attribute.

      The desire to listen.  It’s served me well and I have learnt a lot!

5.    Why do you blog?

        I started a blog because I wanted to learn how to set up a website.  I continue to blog because it is so interesting and uplifting – I have learnt a lot from the blogging community.  I’m not a naturally confident with technology, so that side of it is a big learning curve – and I like challenges.

6.     What is your favourite animal?

         People.  If that category is excluded, I would have to say my greyhound, Bozzy – he’s pretty perfect – and his imperfections make him even more so in my eyes.  🙂   But also the birds in the garden, the fish & frogs in the pond – and the illusive newt who lives in the compost heap. (When last seen!)

7.     What’s the most worn item in your closet?

         My black long sleeve scoop neck Uniglo tops – I’ve got lots of them and wear them just about every day in one guise or another!

8.    What’s your favourite breakfast food?

         See answer to question 1, above…  Well, we all need a bit of comfort to start the day!

9.    If you could live anywhere in the world right now, where would it be?

        Right now, I’m very happy living just where I am – I love the house, having spent the last decade working on it –  and adore the garden – watching the changes through the seasons is such a blessing.  But I’d like to move to the country – still in England – in the not too distant future.  I’m excited by visiting other countries, but am always very happy to return.

10.   If you could do anything over what would it be and how would you do it differently?

         I would be more confident earlier.

You-Are-My-Sunshine-8x10

Here are my nominations for the Sunshine Award –

Check out their blogs for some worthwhile reads…

1.  Gillian from Tales from a Happy Home – for the most beautifully inspirational blog – her interests are similar to mine – home, kitchen, garden and family.  Thank you, Gillian – I know many enjoy your blog.  http://www.talesfromahappyhouse.com

2.  DomesticSluttery –‘The home & lifestyle blog for women who have better things to do’ – interesting, useful, entertaining.

http://www.domesticsluttery.com

3.  The Double Parent – ‘One heart, Double strength!‘ for her passion and drive –

http://thedoubleparent.wordpress.com

4.  Justin P Moore from The Lotus & The Artichoke for his fascinating posts about his travels and explorations into different worldwide cuisines –http://www.lotusartichoke.com

5.  Emma from Greener Mums – ‘Looking after yourself, your family and the environment that little bit better’.  Informative and relevant – Emma is a busy working mother of 2 who has a great approach to the world and her part in it as a mother & citizen.

http://greenermums.com

6.  Veronica Peerless at ‘Through the Garden Gate’.  Veronica has an amazing eye and ability with her camera.  She is able to capture beauty, it seems, effortlessly and wherever she goes.  A truly uplifting blog.

http://www.throughthegardengate.co.uk/blog/

7.  Dips Delectus for tips and an enjoyable digest of what’s ‘on trend’ (or necessary!) for 40+ women.  Positive, practical and beautifully designed.  http://www.dipsdelectus.com

8.  Glossologics- a fantastically unique and addictive blog about language.  An education! http://alexpolistigers.wordpress.com

9.    Green vision – for an interesting, eclectic collection of information, thoughts and great recipes.  Supported by fantastic images. I have just recently found this quirky blog, but am so pleased that I did.  http://benvitalisgreenvision.wordpress.com

10.  Sarah at ‘The Garden Deli’ for her useful and inspiring Notes and recipes from an edible garden.  Another blog that I have recently found, and look forward to enjoying.  http://thegardendeli.wordpress.com

Finally, 10 questions for my nominees to answer –

1.   What have you learnt from blogging?

2.  If you could only pass one piece of advice on to the next generation, what would it be?

3.  What is your most cherished possession?

4.  What is your favourite piece of music / song?

5.  If you’re going away, what’s the most important thing to take?

6.  If you only had one kitchen cupboard standby, what would it be?

7.  Describe your ideal Sunday.

8.  What is your favourite book / and or poem?

9.  Do you have a favourite restaurant?  If so, why do you like it so much?

10. Would you pass on one tip for taking great photos?

I look forward to reading the responses!

Now a fitting conclusion to this post –

Enjoy this track…

sunshine-blog-award

6 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award!

  1. Hey Emma! Thank you so much for the lovely words about my blog! I love the quotes by Emerson …I enjoy reading his stuff. What a wonderful career you have! Your house and garden sound really nice. I would love to have a garden …just not enough room where I am at. The “You are my Sunshine” Image you posted …love that! I always sang that song to my oldest son when he was little. I called him my sunshine. Brings back good memories. I wonder if I might copy that image? Thanks so much for participating! I think you have a wonderful blog and I enjoy reading your post. Wishing you a great weekend! Arlene

    • Well, thanks for the nomination, Ari –
      It was lovely to have met you through it…
      And to have been introduced to Emerson!
      ‘You are my Sunshine’ is indeed a beautiful song –
      makes me think of my girls…
      Do you have a windowsill for herbs?
      There’s a growing movement in the UK called ‘Landshare’ –
      people registering their unused gardens, and locals who would like a garden but don’t have one using the land themselves… My godmother has three local ‘gardens’ (she’s retired!) and shares the produce grown with the householders who own the land… though your life sounds so packed already, windowsill herbs would probably be more practical!
      I found the image from free images on the net – glad you like it, and I look forward to seeing that image on your blog – fun to share! Ex.

  2. Oh, thank you so much! 🙂 For your lovely words and for the nomination, very kind of you. I always like these posts as I am nosy, it was good to read about you. xx

  3. Congratulations on your award. Even though you didn’t go straight to uni from school, it sounds like that job with the catering company was really interesting. It’s always interesting finding out the reasons why someone started a blog xx

  4. This is such a lovely award, congratulations! Like you, if asked about regrets it’d be uni after school, too, but then I wouldn’t have had the career I had or met my husband, so I can’t really regret that!

What do you think?